New Zealand North Island

I am spending more time in New Zealand than Iceland and as soon as I arrived it was clear to see that I will be loving my time here. Its nice to spend some time in a county where the currency is a little easier to understand and theres a McDonalds (sorry mum). I flew to Auckland where I spent my first night. Its easy to see why 1/3 of New Zealand’s population live in this beautiful city. I was lucky enough to meet someone on my fight to New Zealand who was staying at the same hostel as me! This made finding the bus driver and hostel much easier, I was relieved for the help after such a long flight. Unfortunantly  I didn’t see much of Auckland on my first day as I was becoming acquainted with Jet lag. However after a few days I got my bearings. I has originally planned to only spend a few days in the city however I was disappointed to not have seen much on my first few days, therefor I decided to extend my stay and explore more. I met a group in my hostel who were in a similar position to me and also wanted to see the sights of Auckland, this was a relief to me as I wasn’t comfortable about walking around Auckland at night on my own, (the world looks scary when you’re only 5.3″). We decided to take the hop on hop off bus service to see the majority of the city. Thankfully it was a beautiful day so we spend a lot of time by the harbour! We then ventured to the Sky Tower. Im glad we went as the sun was setting as I got such a lovely view of Auckland.

IMG_0445
Auckland, Sky Tower
IMG_0442
The view from the lift (Don’t look down).

I have decided to travel around New Zealand by Bus, I am using the Inter City Bus, Ive found it to be a wonderful service. The busses follow the tourist routes but also venture into to where the locals live, this has allowed me to experience a different side to New Zealand. However I do feel as though I am spending a lot of my time on the bus and not as much as I’d like exploring the country. Because my time in New Zealand is limited I am trying to see as much as possible. I travelled up to Cape Reinga. The very top of New Zealand the view was breathtaking! Its wonderful to see so much colour after just seeing White in Iceland!

IMG_0427
The top of New Zealand
IMG_0419
Only 18029km from home!

Leave a comment